Trophy design win from Leeds College of Art

A Leeds College of Art student is chosen as trophy designer for this year’s prestigious Association of Colleges (AoC) Gold Awards

Rachael Forster, a student at Leeds College of Art, was chosen as the trophy designer for this year’s prestigious Association of Colleges (AoC) Gold Awards, held at the House of Commons in June; which included high profile winners, designer John Rocha CBE and Turner Prize winning artist Elizabeth Price.

The AoC Charitable Trust presents the Gold Awards to a select number of famous former college student alumni each year in recognition of the vital role of further education has played in their careers and continuing achievements.

Past winners include Dragons’ Den investor and successful entrepreneur Deborah Meaden, Formula 1 driver Martin Brundle, actors Colin Firth and Idris Elba and TV gardener Alan Titchmarsh.

Rachael is currently a Creative-in-Residence on the Art and Design (Interdisciplinary) BA (Hons) degree course at the College. She created her design from walnut, gold leaf and pre-cat lacquer, and the use of different colours ensures each award can be designed to be individual to the winner and their journey.

Martin Doel, Chief Executive of the Association of Colleges, said: “The design of these awards demonstrates the quality of work that college students attain and once again it was a tough decision in choosing who would design the Gold Award trophy. It is important to celebrate the work of students publicly, and I have no doubt that Rachael will take the skills she learned at college and go on to have a fantastic career in her chosen field.”

More information about the Gold Awards can be seen here:

Award designer Rachael Forster with Gold Award winners; Left to right:  Mary Al-Khudri, Carl Lygo, Lucy Powell MP, Rachael Foster (Award designer), Professor Julien Baker, Elizabeth Price, and John Rocha CBE.



Send an Invite...

Would you like to share this event with your friends and colleagues?