Government issues post-Brexit advice for EU students

Post-Brexit: EU students reminded to apply for settled status

The government has reminded UK-based students from the EU and European Free Trade Association (EFTA) to apply to the EU Settlement Scheme (EUSS).

The latest Department for Education (DfE) information and advice appears on the government website following the UK’s departure from the EU on 31 January.

It reminds EU students that their rights to live in the UK will not change until 31 December 2020, due to the transition period.

Students from the EU and free trade area (EFTA) – Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland – who are living in the UK before 31 December 2020 will have “until at least” 30 June 2021 to apply to the EUSS.

The EUSS means they will be able to stay in the UK and continue to access benefits and services “broadly on the same terms as now”.

Students who meet residency requirements and whose courses start in the 2020-21 academic year will be able to access tuition fee loans and help with living costs for the duration of their course.

Erasmus+ placements in the UK “should continue as normal”, says the information.

Read more:

University of Nottingham strengthens European ties ahead of Brexit

Newcastle University commits £1.4m to support Erasmus in no-deal Brexit

The DfE has also published new advice for UK students who are considering study in the EU.

It directs students to their HE provider or the UCAS website for guidance and says that funding for partial study in the EU may be available for students enrolled on a course in England. Students can still apply for Erasmus+ placements through their home institution.

Student loans remain unavailable for students enrolled on a course that is wholly outside the UK.

Leave a Reply



we have limited spaces available for this webinar