Government names universities in iQTS pilot

The government’s new teaching qualification for international students is to be piloted in the 2022/23 academic year

The government has chosen six higher education institutions to pilot the new International Qualified Teacher Status (iQTS) programme.

iQTS was announced as part of the International Education Strategy 2021 Update. The qualification will be delivered by accredited English initial teacher trainer (ITT) providers “to trainees all over the world” and is equivalent to the domestic qualified teacher status (QTS).

Sheffield Hallam University, University of Birmingham Dubai, University of Derby, University of Sunderland, University of Warwick and teacher-trainer e-Qualitas are the six successful providers. Pilots begin in September 2022. Applicants apply via the Get into Teaching website and complete their studies abroad.

Fees are set by the six providers. The government will not provide trainees with access to funding.

Those with an iQTS will be eligible to apply for QTS, should they wish to move to the UK to teach. The DfE hopes to expand the system from 2023.

Read more: End high stakes exams at 16, says independent commission

Leave a Reply

Free live webinar & QA

Blended learning – Did we forget about the students?

Free Education Webinar with Class

Wednesday, June 15, 11AM London BST

Join our expert panel as we look at what blended learning means in 2022 and how universities can meet the needs of ever more diverse student expectations.

Send an Invite...

Would you like to share this event with your friends and colleagues?