University of East Anglia (UEA) partners with Rathbones Folio Prize

Winning authors will be offered visiting fellowships in the UEA creative writing department

The University of East Anglia (UEA) and the Rathbones Folio Prize have announced a new partnership offering visiting fellowships to winning authors.

The announcement comes just ahead of the 50th anniversary of the university’s famous creative writing MA.

Winners of the literary prize will be offered a £5000 visiting fellowship by UEA.

The UEA/Rathbones Folio Creative Writing Fellowship will take place for a fixed term each spring. The 2019 winner, poet Raymond Antrobus, takes up his position – working remotely – this spring, and will deliver a programme of digital masterclasses, online panel discussions and tutorials for UEA students in May. His debut The Perseverance was the first poetry collection to win the Rathbones Folio Prize, going on to win the Ted Hughes Prize, Sunday Times Young Writer’s Prize and a Somerset Maugham Award.

2020 winner Valeria Luiselli, who recently accepted her award at a virtual ceremony, will be the second writer to be offered the fellowship.

UEA’s flagship creative writing course was founded in 1970 by Sir Malcolm Bradbury and Sir Angus Wilson and pioneered the teaching of creative writing in the UK.

Since then it has produced more published and prize-winning authors than any other UK institution including Ian McEwan, Kazuo Ishiguro, Anne Enright, Naomi Alderman, Tash Aw and Ayòbámi Adébáyò.

Margaret Atwood, Rose Tremain, Angela Carter, and Lorna Sage have all appeared on its roster of teaching staff and visiting professors.

The university’s 50th anniversary programme will launch officially on 1 October 2020 and include several national and international events.

Leave a Reply

Send an Invite...

Would you like to share this event with your friends and colleagues?