An award-winning scriptwriter was among the scores of alumni returning to the University of Leeds’ School of Fine Art, History of Art and Cultural Studies to celebrate the opening of its new home.
The refurbishment of the listed building in University Road marks an investment of £7.6 million, bringing the School together in one site at close to the heart of the campus.
Vice-Chancellor Sir Alan Langlands introduced a former Head of Fine Art, Barry Herbert, who cut a ribbon to officially open the building. Peter Morgan, one of the country’s leading screenwriters, then took part in an “in conversation” event in the Great Hall with Griselda Pollock, Professor of the Social and Critical Histories of Art.
Peter, who graduated from the School with a degree in the History of Art in 1985, is famed for writing a wide range of successes ranging from The Queen and The Last King of Scotland to Frost/Nixon and The Damned United. He is also the creator and writer of The Crown, a Netflix television series which recently won the Golden Globe Award for Best Television Series – Drama.
Studying in this impressive space for art and culture at the heart of the campus will enable them to continue to benefit from the unique inter-disciplinary approaches to the subjects that our School is celebrated for nationally and internationally – Professor Abigail Harrison Moore, Head of School
Professor Abigail Harrison Moore, Head of School, said: “Our students are excited to be working in the amazing new studio, workshop and teaching areas.
“Studying in this impressive space for art and culture at the heart of the campus will enable them to continue to benefit from the unique inter-disciplinary approaches to the subjects that our School is celebrated for nationally and internationally.”
Founded as the Department of Fine Art in 1950, the School of Fine Art, History of Art and Cultural Studies moved to its new location last summer. The sympathetic restoration of this Grade-II listed building – linked through its architect, Paul Waterhouse, to the architectural style that formed the beginnings of the University of Leeds more than 100 years ago – will prepare the School for the next century of excellent teaching and research.
It provides students with an impressive, modernised environment including quality studio space, fully-equipped workshops, a multi-purpose project space and a large student common room.
Originally built to accommodate Agricultural Sciences, the building was completed in 1924 and was most recently home to the School of Geography from 1993 until 2015.